Has Rory McIlroy ever won The Masters after 2022 late charge falls short?

Canada’s PNP immigration results of December 2021


One of golf’s biggest names, has Rory McIlroy ever won at Augusta to claim The Masters? How many majors has he won?

McIlroy began the final day’s play at The Masters on +1 over through 54 holes, and in a tie for ninth place.

However, the Northern Irishman had a stellar final round in Georgia, including an eagle on the par 5 13th hole.

However, despite his best efforts, the lead of Scottie Scheffler was insurmountable for McIlroy – despite his stunning play on Sunday.

He fell just short of overhauling Scheffler.

His round of 64 strokes is the second best in Augusta history – behind the record of 63.

But has Rory McIlroy ever won The Masters? Is his name on a green jacket?

  • TRENDING: How much prize money is at stake in The Masters?

Selling Sunset Season 5 | Official Trailer

Photo by Andrew Redington/Getty Images

Has Rory McIlroy won The Masters?

Rory McIlroy has never won The Masters – but he certainly has come close.

In 2011, he was the man to beat, carding 65, 69 and 70 across the first three rounds to sit 12 under par, and on a four shot lead going into the final day.

His collapse on Sunday was stunning. He posted a +1 37 on the first nine holes to still hold the lead, but the back nine was terrible.

He went for 53 strokes for a round of 80 – the worst in history by a professional after leading day three at Augusta.

Photo by Scott K. Brown/Augusta National/Getty Images

He finished in a tied for 15th on four under.

Other than that, he finished fourth in 2015 and in a tie for fifth in 2018 and 2020.

He is guaranteed at least third in 2022 behind Scottie Scheffler, and perhaps Cameron Smith.

Has he won any majors?

McIlroy was searching for the grand slam had he won The Masters in 2022 – and will be searching for it in 2023.

His first major was the 2011 US Open, adding the PGA Championship a year later.

In 2014, he claimed a second PGA, and also added the The Open.

McIlroy is also a five-time winner of the Ryder Cup.

  • EXPLAINED: The strict rules around the green jacket at The Masters
Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images

In other news, What liquid do F1 drivers drink during grands prix?

Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know

Read More


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here